The Middlebury Inn has been in continuous operation as a hotel for over 180 years. The Inn began as the Vermont Hotel, a brick "public house" opened by Nathan Wood in 1827. The inn changed hands and became the Addison House in 1852, and then saw improvements in 1865 at the hands of owner Darwin Rider, who ran a free carriage to all trains and operated a large livery for his guests.
Allen Calhoun purchased the Addison House in 1897 and did extensive renovations, including a three-story addition, the installation of baths, electric lights, steam heat, and a new kitchen and dining room. In 1825, the Addison House was sold to the Middlebury Hotel Corporation, a stock company of local businessmen. After further remodeling, the Addison House reopened in 1927 as The Middlebury Inn amid gala festivities.
The last addition to the property came in 1968, when 20 modern Annex units were added under the management of the Treadway Company. The adjacent Porter Mansion, also part of The Middlebury Inn, is a stately brick home built in 1825 for local merchant Jonathan Wainwright, and named for the William Porter family that eventually occupied it. With its lovely curving staircase, fine leaded glass entrance, exquisite marble fireplaces, and intricate moldings, this charming destination offers 9 Victorian-style guest rooms.
Modern Comfort in Middlebury VT
With refurbished guest rooms, expanded meeting facilities, and our new Waterfalls Day Spa, the Middlebury Inn has entered a new golden era. As one of the loveliest historic inns of Vermont, the Middlebury Inn is respectful of the past while offering the comforts and conveniences of the modern world. Our Middlebury, Vermont inn is like a boutique hotel with its delicious dining, creative event space, attentive guest service and timeless charm.